Cadiz United Methodist Church
Monday, December 18, 2017
Open Hearts, Open Minds, Open Doors

History of CUMC

The recorded history of Cadiz United Methodist Church dates back to the early 1800's.
In a log house on the banks of the Little River, circuit riders, such as Peter Cartwright, led the families in worship.
 
In 1837 a brick 40x60 foot church was constructed in the area on Main Street across from what was the IGA grocery store.
  
It is interesting to note that the Annual Conference was held in Cadiz in 1878 and in 1891.

The congregation grew, and in 1957, realizing the need for a larger church, the building site at 214 Main Street was purchased.  Construction on the new church began in 1958 and the building was completed in 1959.  This building served the congregation well for nearly fifty years.  Recently, the church has grown at an enormous rate and we were nearly "bursting at the seams", particularly for classroom space.  In 2004 a parcel of land at Lakota Drive and Highway 68/80 was purchased as the site of our present home for the people of the Cadiz United Methodist Church. Construction on our new church began in November, 2009 and was completed in November of 2010.
 
 
 
Cadiz United Methodist Church has a unique past.  We would like for you to be a part of its exciting future!

Welcome to E-zekiel for The United Methodist Church!

Through a partnership with United Methodist Communications' TechShop, the E-zekiel Web solution is available at discounts for United Methodist organizations. Learn more about TechShop.